Our Story

The Wawi Group
A family company since 1957

In 1957, the family company Wawi was founded by Walter Müller Snr. Since then, the headquarter – including the administration – have been in Pirmasens, Rhineland Palatinate, Germany. The Wawi Group produces worldwide at eight locations (factories) on four continents.

WALTER  MÜLLER sen. – An early sense of what tastes excellent

With his willingness to take risks and to start his own business in the 1950s – despite a safe employment as purchasing director for confectionary at REWE – Walter Müller Snr laid the foundation stone of the worldwide company that WAWI is today. In 1957, he opened his first Hardy store where he sold Hardy block chocolate. Hardy, the chocolate manufacturer was owned by relatives of his wife Ruth. Within a very short period of time he opened further stores across the entire Palatinate. In addition to the block chocolates, the stores also sold hollow chocolate figures for Eastern and Christmas, which Walter Müller Snr obtained from other suppliers. Following the slogan “make a virtue of necessity“, he started to produce his own hollow figures in 1959 – since he could not get enough Easter bunnies on the market. That was the foundation stone of the production of chocolate products.

As a consequence he bought the then first, almost fully automated production line for hollow figures in the world.In 1983, after he handed over complete control of the successful business to his sons Walter and Jürgen, he and his wife Ruth enjoyed their sunset years in the Palatinate and spent a lot of time with their grandchildren – of whom Richard is in charge of the business, today.

A little note on the side: In the 19050s and 60s his nickname used to be Wawwi, which is why he and his wife decided to name the brand “Wawi“.


DR. WALTER MÜLLER – The great strength behind the family brand

In 1983, Dr Walter Müller and his brother Jürgen Müller took over their father’s business. They bought the company from their father and soon pushed and promoted the expansion of it. Whilst, at the beginning of the 1980s, the WAWI company was a small business with its premises in Pirmasens, the facility in Münchweiler was built shortly after, in the mid 80s. In the 1990s, Dr Walter Müller opened the international sites in China, Canada and Australia where he exclusively worked with local partners. Today, the Group is very happy about their then farsighted decision to takle globalisation. He also succeeded to expand the brand in Germany by taking over Nappo & Moritz and MKM. At the same time he promoted the expansion of our three main brands.

In 2004, after his brother had left the company, Dr Walter Müller was the only family member to run the business. It was very important to him to choose his successor wisely and to be an active part of the process. He is delighted about the decision of his son to be in charge of the company and will support him with his expertise in the years to come.

During his entrepreneurial activities Walter Müller succeeded in increasing the Group’s turnover more than sixtyfold, from €2m to more than €120m. For his life’s work he was awarded with the SG Golden Watch – an award which honours and recognises the achievements of outstanding personalities from the confectionery sector.


RICHARD MÜLLER – A new generation creates new delights

After 12 years abroad and in southern Germany, he returned to his home at the beginning of 2018. He is very proud and honoured to be the third generation to lead the family business. In his previous positions as Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer of two companies based in Munich, he has never lost his passion for chocolate. In every supermarket abroad, he used to look for the shelves with the chocolate products and once he was back home, he quickly enjoyed his new life in the beautiful Palatinate – even if he has to travel a lot, due to the foreign WAWI subsidiaries.

The independence of the company is of paramount importance to Richard. That is why he already took over the majority of the shares of his father and uncle and he also wants to continue to lead the company independently of third parties in the future.


Our success story in figures …

1957

Walter Müller Sen, previously sales representative at Zentis and buyer at Rewe Pirmasens, starts his own business. He opens a confectionery store in Zweibrücken, which is quickly followed by six additional stores across the Palatinate.

1959

Start of the production of Easter bunnies.

1964

Purchase of the first automated production line for the creation of hollow figures.

1982

Start of the production of puffed rice chocolate.

1983

Dr Walter Müller & Dipl. Ing. Jürgen Müller take over the management of the company.

1988

Construction of a new production hall with separate administration building in Münchweiler.

1994

WAWI-Xiamen, China, starts production.

1996

Takeover of the company Fuchs & Hoffmann, Bexbach (Saarland, Germany).
WAWI-Chocolate Inc., Laval (Montreal), Canada, starts production.

1998

Opening of the production site in Australia (Melbourne)

2004

After his brother retired from active business, Dr Walter Müller takes over as sole managing director.

2006

Participation in and distribution of the brands Nappo and Moritz.

2007

50 year anniversary of WAWI

2009

Opening of the new factory in Romania.
Sale of the Fuchs & Hoffmann GmbH to the Krüger Group Bergisch Gladbach.

2013

Modernisation of the brand’s image.

2016

As of 1 July 2016, WAWI-AG acquired 65% of the mkm GmbH – Manufaktur für Geniesser, Burghaslach.

2018

Dr Walter Müller retires from the management on 1 August 2018 and hands over the management of the Group to his son Richard Müller.

Want some chocolate?
Shop now
Contact
Do you have any questions concerning WAWI or any of our products?
Contact us now

Unternehmen

Die Wawi Gruppe
Ein Familienunternehmen seit 1957

Das Familienunternehmen Wawi wurde 1957 von Walter Müller gegründet. Der Hauptsitz befindet sich seit Gründung im Rheinland-Pfälzischen Pirmasens in Deutschland. Die Wawi Schokolade AG produziert weltweit an acht Standorten (Fabriken) auf vier Kontinenten.

WALTER  MÜLLER sen. – Schon früh den richtigen Geschmack

Durch seine Risikobereitschaft sich in den 50er Jahren – trotz eines sicheren und sehr guten Anstellungsverhältnis bei der REWE als Einkaufsleiter für Süßwaren – selbstständig zu machen, wurde der Grundstein zum heutigen Unternehmen WAWI gelegt. 1957 eröffnete er die erste Hardy-Filiale, in welcher er Tafelschokolade der Marke Hardy verkaufte. Der Schokoladenhersteller Hardy gehörte damals einer Verwandten seiner Frau Ruth. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit folgten weitere Geschäfte in der gesamten Pfalz. Neben der Tafelware verkauften die Geschäfte an Weihnachten und Ostern Hohlfiguren, welche Walter Müller sen. von anderen Lieferanten bezog. Nach dem Motto „Aus der Not eine Tugend machen“, startete er im Jahr 1959 seine eigene Produktion von Hohlfiguren, da er am Markt nicht genügend Osterhasen bekommen konnte. Das war der Grundstein zur Produktion von Schokoladenprodukten.

In der Folge kaufte er im Jahr 1965 auch die damals erste fast Vollautomatische Produktionslinie für Hohlfiguren der Welt. Nachdem er das erfolgreiche Unternehmen im Jahr 1983 an seine Söhne Walter und Jürgen übergeben hatte, genoss er gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Ruth seinen Lebensabend in der Pfalz und verbrachte viel Zeit mit seinen Enkelkindern, von welchen Richard das Unternehmen heute führt.

Kleiner Hinweis: Sein Spitzname in den 50er und 60er Jahre war übrigens „Wawwi“, weshalb er sich mit seiner Frau damals dafür entschieden hat die Marke „Wawi“ zu nennen.


DR. WALTER MÜLLER – Die große Stärke einer Familienmarke

Dr. Walter Müller hat im Jahr 1983 – zusammen mit seinem Bruder Jürgen Müller als – den Betrieb seines Vaters übernommen. Die beiden haben damals das Unternehmen vom Vater gekauft und sehr bald die Expansion vorangetrieben. War die Firma WAWI Anfang der 80er Jahre noch ein kleiner Betrieb mit Betriebsstätte in Pirmasens wurde Mitte des Jahrzehnts das Werk in Münchweiler gebaut. In den 90er Jahren eröffnete Dr. Walter Müller die Auslandsstandorte in China, Kanada & Australien, wo er stets mit lokalen Partnern zusammengearbeitet hat. Über die Weitsicht bereits damals die Globalisierung anzugehen, ist die Gruppe heute sehr glücklich. Außerdem konnte er die Gruppe in Deutschland durch die Übernahmen von Nappo & Moritz sowie MKM erfolgreich ausbauen. Gleichzeitig verfolgte er den Markenausbau unserer drei Hauptmarken.

Nachdem im Jahr 2004 sein Bruder das Unternehmen verlassen hat, leitete Dr. Walter Müller dieses als einziges Familienmitglied. Ihm war es wichtig, seine Nachfolge früh zu entscheiden und auch aktiv zu gestalten. Er ist froh, dass sich sein Sohn für die Übernahme des Unternehmens entschieden hat und steht ihm in den nächsten Jahren auch noch tatkräftig zur Seite.

Während seiner unternehmerischen Tätigkeit hat es Walter Müller geschafft, den Umsatz der Gruppe von vormals 2 Mio. € auf über 120. Mio. € mehr als zu versechzigfachen. Für sein Lebenswerk erhielt er von dem SG-Verband die „Goldene-Uhr“, mit welcher Persönlichkeiten für Ihre Verdienste rund um die Süßwarenwirtschaft ausgezeichnet werden.


RICHARD MÜLLER – Neue Generation schafft neuen Genuss

Nach 12 Jahren im Ausland und im Süden Deutschlands ist Richard Müller Anfang des Jahres 2018 in seine Heimat zurückgekehrt. Das Familienunternehmen in bereits 3. Generation leiten zu dürfen, erfüllt ihn mit ganz besonderem Stolz. In seinen bisherigen beiden Stellen als Geschäftsführer und Finanzchef zweier Münchner Unternehmen hat er nie die Leidenschaft für Schokolade verloren. In jedem Supermarkt der Welt hat er auch in seiner Zeit außerhalb des Unternehmens immer nach dem Schokoladenregal geschaut. An das Leben in der wunderschönen Pfalz konnte er sich schnell wieder gewöhnen, auch wenn er durch die Auslandstöchter sehr viel auf Reisen ist.

Richard ist die Unabhängigkeit des Unternehmens sehr wichtig. Auch aus diesem Grund hat er bereits die Mehrheit der Firmenanteile seines Vaters und Onkels übernommen und möchte das Familienunternehmen auch in Zukunft unabhängig von Dritten leiten.


Unsere Erfolgsgeschichte in Zahlen …

1957

Walter Müller sen., zuvor Handelsvertreter bei Zentis und Einkäufer bei REWE Pirmasens, macht sich selbstständig. Er eröffnet ein Süßwarenfachgeschäft in Zweibrücken, dem sechs weitere Filialen in der Pfalz folgen.

1959

Beginn der Produktion von Osterhasen.

1964

Kauf der ersten automatischen Anlage für Hohlfiguren.

1982

Beginn der Produktion von Puffreis-Schokolade.

1983

Dr. Walter Müller & Dipl.-Ing. Jürgen Müller übernehmen die Geschäftsführung.

1988

Bau einer neuen Produktionshalle mit Verwaltungsgebäude in Münchweiler.

1994

Aufnahme der Produktion WAWI-Xiamen, China.

1996

Übernahme der Firma Fuchs & Hoffmann, Bexbach (Saar).
Beginn der Produktion WAWI-Chocolate Inc., Laval (Montreal), Kanada.

1998

Fabrikeröffnung in Australien (Melbourne).

2004

Dr. Walter Müller übernimmt, nach dem Ausscheiden seines Bruder aus dem aktiven Geschäft, die alleinige Geschäftsführung.

2006

Firmenbeteiligung und Übernahme der Distribution der Marken Nappo und Moritz.

2007

Jubiläum 50 Jahre WAWI.

2009

Eröffnung der neuen Fabrik in Rumänien.
Verkauf der Fuchs & Hoffmann GmbH an die Krüger Gruppe Bergisch Gladbach.

2013

Modernisierung des WAWI-Markenauftrittes.

2016

Zum 1. Juli 2016 hat die WAWI-AG 65% der mkm GmbH – Manufaktur für Geniesser, Burghaslach übernommen.

2018

Dr. Walter Müller scheidet zum 1.8.18 aus der Geschäftsführung aus und übergibt die Führung der Unternehmensgruppe an seinen Sohn Richard Müller.

Lust auf Schokolade?
Zum WAWI Shop
Kontakt
Sie haben Fragen zu WAWI oder unseren Produkten?
Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt